Tuesday, January 21, 2014

// // Leave a Comment

Types of RCC Beam

Beam is a structural member which is normally placed horizontally. It provides resistance to bending when loads are applied on it.

Various types of materials such as wood, steel, aluminum, etc are used for making RCC beam. Most commonly used material is RCC (Reinforced Cement Concrete).

RCC beam can be various types depending on different criteria. Such as depending on shape, beam can be rectangular, T-beam, etc. Depending on reinforcement placement, beam can be double reinforced beam, single reinforced beam, etc.

I'll discuss in this post about the types of RCC beam depending on supporting systems. Knowing about these types of beam are very important. because, most of the technical factors of reinforcement placement involve in these beam supporting systems.

Types of RCC Beam

RCC beams are 4 types depending on their supporting systems.

1. Simply supported beam or simple beam
2. Semi-continuous beam
3. Continuous beam, and
4. Cantilever beam.

The explanation of each type of beam is given below -

Simple beam: This type of beam has a single span. It is supported by two supports at both ends.

Semi-continuous beam: This beam doesn't have more than two spans. And supports are not more than three. Technically this beam is a continuous beam.

Continuous beam: This type of beam has more than two spans and has more than three supports along its length. The supports are in one straight line thus the spans are also in a straight line.

Cantilever beam: It has only one support in one end, another end is open.

There is another type of beam we can see in the civil engineering world which is called over-hanging beam. This beam extends beyond its supports. Actually this beam is a combination of simply supported and cantilever beam.


Post a Comment