Wednesday, May 14, 2014

// // Leave a Comment


The EN Eurocodes are expected to contribute to the establishment and functioning of the internal market for construction products and engineering services by eliminating the disparities that hinder their free circulation within the Community. Further, they are meant to lead to more uniform levels of safety in construction in Europe.

The EN Eurocodes will become the reference design codes. They are currently at the national calibration stage. After publication of the National Standard transposing the Eurocodes and the National Annexes, they will be used in parallel with existing national standards until 2010, when all conflicting standards will be withdrawn.

It is mandatory that the Member States accept designs to the EN Eurocodes, since the National standards implementing the EN Eurocodes will become the standard technical specification in all contracts for public works and public services.

The EN Eurocodes consist of 10 different groups, which are:
  • EN 1990 EUROCODE 0 - Basis of structural design
  • EN 1991 EUROCODE 1 - Actions on structures
  • EN 1992 EUROCODE 2 - Design of concrete structures
  • EN 1993 EUROCODE 3 - Design of steel structures
  • EN 1994 EUROCODE 4 - Design of composite steel and concrete structures
  • EN 1995 EUROCODE 5 - Design of timber structures
  • EN 1996 EUROCODE 6 - Design of masonry structures
  • EN 1997 EUROCODE 7 - Geotechnical design
  • EN 1998 EUROCODE 8 - Design of structures for earthquake resistance
  • EN 1999 EUROCODE 9 - Design of aluminium structures
Become a VIP Member to Download  Eurocodes


Post a Comment